Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare | To Lie or Not To…

Response to Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare

Is it possible to be too honest, or is honesty always the best policy?
Photographers, artists, poets: show us TRUTH.

When it comes to honesty and truth, I am quite sure we have different perspectives as to the matter. And I would want to talk about my life rule and how I deal with this.

Honesty, for me, is very essential. It’s like the air we breathe. And every day, we have to live by the truth because if not, I see no point of living in a world full of lie and deceit. Imagine walking, running, laughing, crying, screaming, hoping, praying and believing over a life fabricated with lies. Imagine what this world would be like. It will be a total chaos.

I will be a hypocrite if I’ll tell you I never lied, if I’ll tell you I never made up things. I am a liar and there is no better reason to defend that. Yes, I am not perfect but still it is not a valid reason for my lies. But why lie? Why is it hard to be honest? Why is it hard to tell the truth and be done with it?

I lie because I have come to understand that people are sensitive. I am scared to hurt someone’s feelings if I talk too bluntly. It’s the fear of being the reason why someone would change his/her view towards himself/herself or a particular thing. But this is wrong. I have come to realize that the truth can hurt, might hurt, but it’s better than lying. I’ll be hurt with the truth but I’d rather hear it than believe in something that isn’t. I can and might hurt someone with the truth but I just have to stick to the thought that it’ll be over soon and something good will result out of it. And I have come to learn the art of playing with words. It’s really on how you say it, on how you express your thoughts, on how you tell the truth in a less hurtful way. This does not apply to all truths but at least you try not to really hurt someone.

I lie because I am someone’s daughter, sister, cousin, friend, neighbor, etc. There are times when you are not in the position to tell the truth. I don’t know if this happens to everyone but it happened to me. That moment when you knew what’s going on but you have to keep it to yourself because you might cause damage and turmoil. That moment when you’re in the middle of something grand but you just can’t speak your mind just because. Been there and trust me, it’s not a good place to be. You’re just there, watching everything happened and powerless. You can’t carry the world on your shoulders. There are things you can’t control. And you cannot simply wash your hands and walk away. This is not just your life. This is not just your game. What to do? Find the perfect timing. There’s no better formula for that. You will just feel it. You will eventually know it.

I lie because I am selfish. From the simple things to bigger things. I lie to protect myself, to defend myself. I lie to guard myself against the world’s cruelty. I feel happy and safe but it’s just temporary. At the end of the day, the lie would haunt me and invade my sleep. And it’s not great to live every freakin’ day knowing I am full of lies. Lying increased my being a paranoid. Lying lessened my confidence. Lying had slowly eaten my morals. And it’s controlling. It’s not good. I sit through it and realized why choose to live like this every day, a prison in my own made-up cell. Truth! It sets everything free. It had set me free. Why lie when I can protect myself with the truth? It’s ironic. That’s life. It will test and challenge you. You make mistakes and eventually learn from it. That’s what happened to me. I regret the mistakes and at the same time I am thankful for I have learned great lessons.

Lies! Lies! Lies! Imagine a world full of lies. It’s chaos! So let’s all be honest. Let’s live by the truth. Whatever the truth is.

“Veritas Liberabit Vos!”

~ Silver

Agspeak, 01/04/2014

This entry was posted in Me and my Thoughts... and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare | To Lie or Not To…

  1. Pingback: TMI | Edward Hotspur

  2. Pingback: Daring to live truthfully | Liberation through Soberiety

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: A Poetic Duet With A Shade Of Pen – “The Burden Of Truth” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  5. Pingback: A Shade Of Pen

Leave a Reply

