Daily Prompt: Sad But True | What Matters

Daily Prompt: Sad But True > Tell us about the harshest, most difficult to hear — but accurate — criticism you’ve ever gotten. Does it still apply?

All my life I have been surrounded with happy and positive people. I haven’t had any harsh comments or criticisms from my family and friends. Not until three years ago…

Someone called me ‘ugly’. Someone I don’t really know in person; a friend of a friend. I’m not really sure and I don’t want to get into details. When I saw her comment in this social networking site, I grasped myself and looked for a reaction somewhere in me. There has to be a reaction. I’m human. I’m capable of feeling. And I know that somewhere in my deepest cells that I was hurt. I find it mean and cruel because I thought she has no right to judge me when she does not know me to begin with. I find it unfair because I felt like I was in the middle of a trial and the judge has given me verdict just by looking at me, without letting me utter a single word at all. Somewhere in me was so angry and frustrated. Well, I guess that’s normal, right? But what’s weird is that I only entertained these feelings for like minutes. That’s because I’m not as weak as that person thought I am.

For years now, I have come to understand that the society’s  viewpoint of what’s beautiful has drastically changed.  The society would see and eventually judge you by where you live, the clothes you wear, the people you’re with, the hobbies you do, the school you go to, the company you work for, the beliefs you choose to, the principles that you fight for, etc. But most of the time, the society looks at you from head to toe and instantly, out of nowhere, just like magic, it can give you a judgment. Crazy but it’s true. This has been part of the evolution. As the world continues to rotate, the society has been constantly, without an inch of doubt, judging each and every person, the living and even the dead. And obviously, I’m not exempted to this whole idea of ‘being-judged-thing’.

I know I’m beautiful. My view to what’s beautiful may not be the same as to what the society has but I don’t really care. The society can say whatever, they can think whatever. Yes, in a way it matters, but it really should not matter. You know what I mean? Life is too darn short to linger on negativity so I don’t let it caught me. Growing up, I have learned that I am unique in my own little way. I have come to embrace my traits, values, skills, strengths and weaknesses. I have acknowledged the fact that I’m not perfect, still a work in progress, but I like every part of me. I, sometimes, fight against myself but I always end up learning new things about me. I value myself. I respect myself. Sometimes I mentally poke myself. I am spontaneous and I’d die for adventures. I am loved. These things make me beautiful. These things can defeat any physical perfection. But then again, I can’t change the society’s perception of what’s beautiful. I don’t have plans to. What matters is how I look at myself. I’ll just continue doing the things I do. I’ll just continue being me; happy, contented, grateful and helping the world in the best possible way I can.

I am crazy, witty and awesome. I am beautiful. WE ALL ARE! 🙂

6

~ Silver

Agspeak, House of Beautiful People, 10/23/2013

This entry was posted in Me and my Thoughts... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt: Sad But True | What Matters

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Harsh – Poem / Poetry – “The Survey” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

