I Wear Me!

Can we judge a person basing on what he or she is wearing?

Well, the answer to this question really depends on how you see it. Here’s my response to the Daily Prompt: The Clothes (May) Make the (Wo)man.

I love clothes but I don’t go for the fancy ones. I find them impractical. I don’t own branded dresses, shoes, bags and accessories. But I love dressing up. I am the same as most people who thinks/plans what clothes to wear on their every day. It always adds to my confidence and it helps me go through my day.

They say I don’t look my age. Well, that’s a compliment right there. But I am pretty sure I sometimes don’t act my age. I am witty, fun and free-spirited. I have plans but I am also spontaneous. But since my job requires me to be authoritative, of course, I have to dress like it.

2

I usually wear dresses/formal tops/skirts paired with a few of my stilettos at work. 🙂

I was born in love with music and rock & roll, so letting go of my rugged pants, tees and sneakers will never be an option. I find it comfy! And I know that when I wear like this, I can connect with my students; like they will feel that I’m just like them. And that’s letting go of intimidation right there.

1

I love exploring the wild! I love sleeping on tents. I don’t friggin’ mind carrying a big backpack with me as long as I get the chance to be happy with nature. Haha. 🙂

5

I can go on and on. But nah, clothes will not really tell someone who you really are. It’s lame to judge someone by it’s appearance. And I find it unfair. Not all can afford good clothes. Not all are updated when it comes to what’s in and what’s not. Not everyone cares about how they look. So it’s unfair to judge someone by it.

There’s no such thing as standard when it comes to fashion and style. Yes, we are in a generation where people think it matters. A generation where social media is given utmost importance. A generation where criticism is viral. And I know for a fact that this has influenced a lot of people. They start to dress, walk, talk and act as if they no longer have their own identity. They copy; imitate! And that’s when they start losing their own selves. Sad but true. But I still hope people will realize how to value their selves more.

I am super thankful because I have grown up with zero tolerance to fancy or luxury (Credits to my parents!). I don’t go cray-cray on expensive things. I always look for options. This world has lots to offer so why go for impracticality? I value simplicity, am talking about my own style and positive attitude. I always believe that however simple you wear, but when you wear it with a kind heart and good intentions, you’re going to look fabulous!

I wear what I feel. I wear who I am. I wear whatever that makes me giggle and happy. I care about what I wear not to impress others but to feel good for myself. I need that! I deserve that. But above all, I care about putting a smile on my face every day, though life’s a roller coaster, I still make sure to wear a SMILE! It’s not pretending that I’m happy. It’s telling the world that ‘I CAN DO THIS!’. It’s not the clothes, it your attitude! 🙂

9

So tell me, are you wearing YOU? 🙂

~ Silver

Agspeak, House of Beautiful People, 10/6/2013

This entry was posted in Me and my Thoughts... and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Wear Me!

  1. Pingback: Princesses and Docs | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  2. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – A Poetic Duet With JaneyBGood – “Alluring Attire” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  3. Pingback: Princesses and Docs | Kick-Ass Ireland!

Leave a Reply

